Motar Board - National College Senior Honor Society

National Leadership

National Council

The National Council, elected by collegiate delegates, is charged with guiding the long-term future of the organization, pending any changes decided upon by delegates to the national conferences. All National Council members volunteer to serve Mortar Board with two-year terms (with a maximum of two consecutive terms in any one office, with the positions of president, president-elect and student representative being limited to one term).

National President - Ms. Gail Harrison Corvette (The Ohio State University, 1980)
President-Elect – Ms. Kathryn E. Chick (Hood College, 2006)
Vice President – Dr. Sarra Nazem (The University of Michigan, 2004) 
Secretary-Treasurer – Ms. Jenni Birch Szolwinski (Purdue University, 1993)
Student Representative – Sofia Miranda-Fred (Washington University in St. Louis, 2019)
Student Representative – Mr. Matthew Crane (University of Southern California, 2018)
Alumni Representative – Mr. Brandon M. Caten (University of South Alabama, 2011)
Alumni Representative – Dr. Cassandra L. Lucas (Purdue University, 1994)
Immediate Past President – Dr. David L. Whitman (University of Wyoming, 1998)
Foundation Representative – ex officio – Dr. Martha L. Starling (Kansas State University, 1962)
Executive Director – ex officio – Dr. Jane A. Hamblin (Purdue, 1973)

National Foundation

A board of trustees governs the National Foundation. These trustees are volunteers who coordinate the fundraising efforts in collaboration with the staff at the National Office, oversee the investment of the funds and administer the fellowship program and chapter project grants. Fundraising sources include contributions from Mortar Board members, alumni and chapters, along with royalties and donations from corporate partnerships.


Foundation President – Dr. Martha L. Starling (Kansas State University, 1962)
Vice President – Dr. Barbara J. Arnold (The Pennsylvania State University, 1981)
Secretary-Treasurer – CAPT Sally Watlington, USN (Ret.) (Purdue University, 1959)
Trustee – Dr. Joni Comstock (Eastern Illinois University, 2016)
Trustee – Ms. Mary Ruth Carleton (University of California, Berkeley, 1969)
Trustee – Mr. Craig Evers (The Ohio State University, 2001)
Trustee -  Ms. Janet G. Farrington (University of Mississippi, 1964)
Trustee – Ms. Kathryne MacKenzie (Oklahoma Baptist University, 1969)
Trustee – Ms. Laura C. Simic (University of Oregon, 1985)
Trustee – Ms. Karen S. Stiner (San Diego State University, 1987)
Ex officio – Ms. Gail Harrison Corvette (The Ohio State University, 1980)
Ex officio – Ms. Jenni Birch Szolwinski (Purdue University, 1993)
Executive Director – ex officio – Dr. Jane A. Hamblin (Purdue, 1973)

Section coordinators

Section coordinators work directly with chapters, serving as close primary contacts for chapters within a specified geographic region. The section coordinator is available to assist the chapters with a variety of tasks, including the completion of forms, execution of events and activities and assistance with communication with the National Office. Alongside the National Council, section coordinators communicate, facilitate and establish continuity within the organization.

Section 1 (Northeast) – Ms. Brianna Murphy (Endicott College, 2015)
Section 2 (Pennsylvania) – Dr. Patience Whitworth (The Ohio State University, 2003)
Section 3 (Mid-Atlantic) – Ms. Marie Brulenski (The Pennsylvania State University, 2017)
Section 4 (Southeast) – Ms. Jaclyn Walz, (Auburn University, 2012)
Section 5 (Floribama) – Mr. Nathan R. Cordle (University of Alabama, 2011)
Section 6 (South) – Dr. Patty Ann Bogue (University of Alabama, 2008)
Section 7 (Tennessee Valley) – Ms. Leslie Ellis (Lenior-Rhyne University, 2015)
Section 8 (Southern Ohio) – Mr. Robert Kichak (University of Cincinnati, 2014)
Section 9 (Northern Ohio) – Ms. Kailee Weiker, (Ohio Northern University, 2010)
Section 10 (Michigan) – Ms. Ashleigh Spatt (The Colorado College, 2010)
Section 11 (Indiana) – Ms. Katharine Haring (Northern Michigan University, 2011)
Section 12 (Illinois) – Ms. Candice Hironaka Pitts (Oregon State University, 1971)
Section 13 (Upper Midwest) – Ms. Sonya Myscofski (Beloit College, 2018)
Section 14 (Northern Great Plains) –  Dr. Diana Smithens (University of Buffalo, 2006)
Section 15 (Southern Great Plains) – Mr. David Andrews (Purdue University, 2010)
Section 16 (Central) – Ms. Stacie Lawrence (University of Utah, 2013) 
Section 17 (Texas) – Ms. Anne Marie Sullivan (Purdue, 2014)
Section 18 (Southwest) – Dr. Cassandra Lucas (Purdue University, 1994)
Section 19 (Rocky Mountain) – Ms. Kelsey Willis (Colorado State University, 2014)
Section 20 (Pacific Northwest) – Ms. Mia McCurdy (Purdue University, 2010)
Section 21 (West) – Dr. Kathryn Gabrielson (San Diego State University, 1992)